Mustag Ata Peak

Muztag-Ata is the “father of the ice mountains” – a mountain in the Pamir, located in the territory of China. The height is 7546 m, due to the gentle western slope and relatively dry weather in the region. M.

Muztag-Ata is located near the south of Kongur, the highest peak of the Kongurmuztag mountain range. Together they form an almost isolated group separated from the Kunlun Ridge in the east and from the rest of the Pamir in the west. To the northeast of this mountain system lies the Tarim basin and the Takla-Makan desert. Between the peaks there is the Kara-Kol lake, next to which is the Karakorum highway.

From the ice dome Muztagata descends 16 glaciers. The largest of them – Coxel, located on the eastern slope, has a length of 21 km.

The Swedish researcher and geographer Sven Gedin was the first, whose attempt to conquer the Muztag-Ata mountain in 1894 was recorded. The following attempts were made in 1900 and 1904 and 1947.

In 1956, a large group of Chinese and Soviet athletes successfully crossed the summit through the western ridge, along a route that is now considered standard. More complex routes along the eastern and southern ridges of the summit were completed, respectively, in 2000 and in 2005.

Пик Музтаг-Ата

Музтаг-Ата— «отец ледяных гор» — гора на Памире, расположенная на территории СУАР, Китай. Высота 7546 м, из-за пологого западного склона и относительно сухой погоды в регионе является одним из наиболее легко покоряемых пиков выше 7 тыс. м.

Музтаг-Ата располагается к югу от Конгура, высочайшего пика хребта Конгурмузтаг. Вместе они формируют почти изолированную группу, отделённую от хребта Куньлунь на востоке и от остального Памира на западе. К северо-востоку от этой горной системы лежит Таримский бассейн и пустыня Такла-Макан. Между вершинами расположено озеро Кара-Коль, рядом с которым проходит Каракорумское шоссе.

С ледяного купола Музтагаты спускается 16 ледников. Самый крупный из них — Коксель, расположенный на восточном склоне, имеет длину 21 км.

Шведский исследователь и географ Свен Гедин был первым, чья попытка покорить гору Музтаг-Ата в 1894 году была зафиксирована. Следующие попытки были предприняты в 1900 и 1904 и 1947 годах.

В 1956 году большая группа китайских и советских спортсменов успешно взошла на вершину через западный гребень, по маршруту, который теперь считается стандартным. Более сложные маршруты по восточному и по южному гребням вершины пройдены, соответственно, в 2000 году и в 2005 году.